From Scratch: Jalapeño Poppers

My Mexican heritage* is more than evident, in my love for pinatas, Mexican tourists and Mexican food. I can give you a run-down of my weird and wonderful experiences of each – but perhaps I should just start with a crowd favourite.

Food.

Mexican food, to be specific.

*BTW: I am not, nor have I ever been, Mexican.

I love Mexican food. The fresh ingredients, the crispy carbs and of course, the kick of heat. My favourite dish ever (and if it’s on the menu – I’m very likely to order it.) is Jalapeño poppers. Cheese stuffed Jalapeño peppers, battered and deep-fried. (Be still my heart. – Literally.)

Now, poppers are not actually Mexican (They’re more of an Americanized version of Chile relleno – Stuffed peppers.) but they are packed with yummo Mexican ingredients and are my absolute favourite! Since I love them so much – I thought I’d satisfy my pang for them, with a healthier alternative. They were dee-lish, and I recommend that you try them too!
Zozette’s healthy (ish) homemade Jalapeño poppers

Ingredients:

A jar of whole pickled Jalapeños

1/2 a  tub of Low fat cream cheese (Approx. 125g)

A cup of grated low fat cheddar cheese

A few tablespoons of finely chopped spring onions

1/4 tsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

1 egg, beaten

About 2 cups of Panko crumbs

Method:

1. Mix cream cheese, cheddar cheese, spring onions, cumin and cayenne pepper in a bowl.

2. Cut peppers lengthwise and scoop out the seeds. (This is where the unbearable heat lies.) Dispose of the seeds and don’t rub your eyes. (Speaking from experience, here.)

3. Fill each pepper half with the cheese mix.

4. Dunk the stuffed pepper in the beaten egg.

5. Coat it in Panko crumbs. (I added a bit more cayenne to my Panko crumbs for an extra punch in the face.)

6. Lay on a baking tray and pop in the oven. (I put them in on high for about 20 mins. – Just keep an eye on them – Take them out when the panko is golden and toasted.)

7. Serve hot and scarf down with the gusto of a thousand wolves. (Ok – so they didn’t turn out too pretty – but dang, they were yummy!)

Bisous!

Zozette

Leave a Reply

