I memed a meme

It took me much longer than acceptable, but I finally watched Les Misérables – the film edition – a week or two ago.

Having never watched the onstage version nor read the book in any-which-way, meant that I was in for an absolute treat.

Besides the storyline being one of utter brilliance, I thoroughly enjoyed the production’s art direction, and even more-so, the songs and score.

A story of  poverty and heart-break, set in French history, when the poor were forced into slavery and prostitution. Sounds pretty miserable, no? But don’t be put off – it’s also a story of love and redemption, with an absolutely stunning cast.

Reasons to watch it:

– Anne Hathaway. Anne Hathaway. Anne Hathaway. This is the number one reason to watch this film. Her performance was short, but absolutely the most compelling. (Take some tissues with you)

– Hugh Jackman. This man has no limits to his talent. When that vein on his forehead pops out in anger, you are so ready to stand up in the cinema and scream “Viva, Jean Valjean! VIVA!”

– Theiving, greedy innkeepers, played by Sacha Baron Cohen and Helena Bonham Carter. Need I say more? They provide some very much needed comic relief. Their daughter Eponine (played by Samantha Barks – also in the West End version)  evolves in the most unlikely way, and it’s quite beautiful.

– The story, as I’ve already mentioned, is stunning – and very much lives up to Victor Hugo’s usual tales of heartbreak and social politics. (The Hunchback of Notre Dame)

– The groundbreaking vocals. Les Misérables was the first musical to make use of on-set vocal recordings. – As opposed to prerecorded songs and miming. It gave the characters a new depth. They were able to really act and react mid-song, and it made all the difference.

Reasons not to watch it:

– If you are not a fan of musicals, you will most definitely find yourself lolling off to dreamland within the first few minutes. After all, the entire movie is communicated through song! Not one piece of dialogue.

– Russel Crowe. God bless him and his Gladiator sandals, but I don’t think Mr Crowe’s vocal abilities quite lived up to the rest of the cast. He can very well hold a note (unlike Mr. Pierce Brosnan in Mamma Mia…) but I don’t think he was able to keep up strength-wise. He looked like he was concentrating very, very hard.

Pierce brosnan

Don’t sweat it bro. The ladies still love me.

That’s it. Not enough reasons for you not to watch it, methinks. Now hop to it. I think it’s still showing in some places.

_________________________________

There are very few things I love more than a good musical. Except for maybe memes. Yes. I love memes a lot. So I’ve combined two of my loves and collected some Les Mis memes for your pleasure.

Screen-Shot-2012-12-27-at-5.13.56-PM

hE885ECC6

grumpy-cat-le-miserable

honey-boo-boo-hero

8a9b65fea3214c77e4ac460c72c1a8a6

And my personal favourite: (Because it made me laugh and laugh and laugh and laugh…..)

Les-Misérables-Memes-all-friends-dead-W630

Bisous!

Zozette

2 thoughts on “I memed a meme

Leave a Reply

